Oaths of Allegiance Of Washington County, Pa.

Oath of Allegiance: I do solemnly, in the presence of Almighty God, swear and declare 
that I will faithfully and sincerely support the Constitution of the United States, 
and obey all laws thereof, and will discontinue opposition thereto, except by way of 
petition and remonstrance, and all attempts to resist, obstruct, or illtreat the 
officers of the United States in the execution of their respective duties, so help me 

Each person, in taking this oath, was required to subscribe his name thereto, as well 
as sign the following pledge: In pursuance of the oath hereto annexed, I do hereby 
engage and associate to and with all others who may subscribe these presents to countenance 
and protect the officers of the United States in the execution of their duties according 
to law, and to discover and bring to justice all persons who may be concerned, directly 
or indirectly, in illegally hindering or obstructing the said officers, or any of them, 
in the execution of their duty, or in doing any manner of violence to them, or either 
of them. In witness of all which I have hereunto subscribed my hand the day and year 
opposite my name. 
Bethlehem Township, 29 Dec. 1794
David Enoch, John Smiley, Nathan Meck, David Sutton, James Braden, Abel McFarland, 
Samuel Meck, Daniel McFarland, Jr., James Gillespie, John James, Lemuel Cooper,
David Evans, John Bockius, James Evans, Christopher Horn, Thomas Ijams,  Daniel Cory,
Valentine Kender, Bazel Barnet, Christopher Cox, John Horn, George Horn, James Graham,
Aaron Davis, Caleb Bell, Jacob Young, John Meck, Jr., Isaac Pettit, Sampson Nicholls. 

Somerset Township, 30 Dec. 1794 
James Dawson, Samuel Ferguson, John Greenleas, Thomas Gill, Archibald Blue, John Huffman.

Somerset Township, 31 Dec 1794 
James Collams, Allen Olfer, Andrew Ault, Jacob Swagler, 
Henry McDonough, Samuel Crawford, George McIlwaine, James Miller, Grier McIlwaine, 
Samuel Weir, Francis Keely, Jacob Myers, Henry Hewitt, James Cochran, Wm. McCombe, 
Patrick McCulloch, Robert McComb, Peter Black, Samuel Shuster, Samuel Moser, Michael 
Paker, James Leydy, Benjamin Leydy, Wm. Smith, David Huffman, Martin Huffman, Andrew 
Smith, John Stevenson,  Martin Smith, William Thompson, Robert McFarland, John Chapman, 
Mathias Luse, Frederick Leydy, John Vance, John Kinney, James Dickson, Alex. Porter, 
Andrew Simons. 

Bethlehem Township 
Thomas Wier, James Hill, Peter Drake, Joshua Drake, Jonathan Drake, 
James Beatty, Joseph Hill, Jr., Leonard Roberts, Dickinson Roberts, Daniel Driskel, 
Thomas Richardson, Wm. Campbell, Richard Richardson,  John Weston, Sr., Fred. Dage, 
Sr., Frederic Dage, Jr., Adam Smith, Pat McDowell, Robert Ferguson, David Sutton, 
Sr., John Dage, Michael Letherman, John Weston, Jr., John Conkle, Jacob Conkle, Ezekiel 
Bradon, Mich. Dage, And. Rogers, Thomas Caton, Mathias Dage, Gasper Pilts, 
George Dawson, Peter Hewitt, George Drister, Abm. Barber. 
18 Nov. - 29 Dec. 1794 - 
before Daniel Depue, in Fallowfield Township. Joseph Depue, Samuel Cole, Samuel Gunsalis, 
Joseph Parkinson, Thomas Nichols,  John Rolston, Adam Wickersham, Jr., Thomas Beaty, 
Christian Stout, Jacob Stilwagon, Jacob Resasher, Peter Wickersham, Peter Wayant, 
Peter Erigh, Cornelius Wayant, Andrew Platter, James Coulter, Hammond Cole, Vincent 
Colvin, Thomas Shaver, Wm. Beemur, Isaac Cole, John Tannehill, Jr., Samuel Coulter, 
Nicholas Johnson,  Robert Galloway, Jacob Rape, Jr., John Ammon, Andrew Cole, Wm. 
Jewell, Benjamin Morrow, Thomas Legg, William Vanhorn, Edward Loder, Joseph Hall, 
Peter Bellefelt, Thomas Case, Geo. Grant, John Muller, Nicholas Depue, Samuel Moody, 
Jacob Rope, Symonds Bandwell, Christopher Reading, William Nitherfreed, Samuel Baxter, 
Massal Case, Martin Wirt, Samuel Quimby, Daniel McGuire, Thomas Fenton, Wm. Storer, 
James Baxter, John Lane, Henry Lane, John Johnston, Samuel Baxter, Jr., John Fenton, 
S. Storer, Richard Storer, Jonathan Hamilton, Nicholas Conley, Isaac Teeple, Richard 
Jackson, David Grant, Daniel Hickey, Lewis Chatfield, Robert George, Alexander George, 
Thomas Coulter, John Ruth, Benjamin Gunsalis, James Hill, Conrad Ammon, John Bind, 
Alex. Stelle,  Daniel Hamilton, Jonathan Coulter, Nathan Woodbury, Peter Casner, Daniel 
Rice, Abraham Crabs, Philip Crabs, Robert Croskeny, Jas. Rice, Robert Williams, John 
Shouse, Jacob Ammon, Peter Jesseroon, Abraham Hickman, Samuel Lewis, Abraham Frye, 
Sr., Abraham Frye, Jr., Frederick Cooper, Samuel Willey, Samuel Frye, John Amlin, 
Jr., James Carson, Abraham Seevers, Abraham Brokow, Thos. Rape, John Slette, Sheddrack 
Hyatt, Robert Latta,  Robert Speers, Henry Falconer, William Ringland, John Cooper, 
John Stockton, Michael Power, Jacob Crabs, Daniel McComus, Henry Crabs, Jas. Davidson, 
James Rush, Samuel Vanvoorhis, Daniel Vanvoorhis, Wm. Guilleford, Daniel Brent.  
24 Nov. - 30 Dec. 1794 - sworn by David Hamilton Wm. Hannah, Hugh Hannah, Samuel 
Scott, Abner Biddle, Oliver Brennen, James O. Donnell, James Kobyon, John Scott, 
John Small, Arthur Gardner, Benjamin Shune, Michael Study, George Branan, Joseph 
Watt, James Parkinson, John Fune, Maxwell Earicson, James Taylor, Sr., Jas. Taylor, 
Jr., Daniel Welch, William Parkinson, Joseph Phillips, Abner Lash, Allen Means, Reuben 
Rennyon, Jacob Shuster, Isaac Rose, Joseph Tuelleg. 
Cross Creek, 11 Sep. 1794 - presence of William Rea, Aaron Lyle, Thomas Patterson, 
William Rannalls,  Henry Graham, Samuel McKibben, Thomas Patterson, Thomas Marshall, 
Gideon Gibson, John Morrison, Benjamin Bay, John Marshall, William McCaskey, Samuel 
Johnston, Robert Walker, Elijah Henwood, John Marshall, Robert Forsythe, Joseph Scott, 
William Campbell, Richard Wells, of James [sic], William Rea, Elijah Robertson, Peter 
Coe, James Davison,  James Marshall, James How, John Leeper, Robert Marshall, Thomas 
Wiley, Alexander Wells, John Stevenson, George Wells, Wm. McKibben, Elisha Robertson, 
Robert Moore, James Jackson, Hugh Rogers, William Wells, Thomas Beaty, Isaac Cowan, 
John McClurg, James Linn, Joseph Riley, Thomas McKibben, William Caldwell, Nathaniel 
Pettit, Samuel Robertson, John Graham, Philemon Davis, William Young, James Todd, 
James Leeper, Thomas Graham, Samuel Davis, Robert McComb, Joseph Carter, John Scott, 
John Beaty, Adam Glass, William Smith, James Dunbar, Samuel Leeper, Thomas Ward, 
Alexander Johnson, James Clark, Ebenezer Smith, John Cowen, John Stevenson, William 
Hughs, James Smith, David Hays, John Moore, Samuel Carson, Ephraim Hart, Isaac Johnson, 
Joseph Reed, Daniel Cameron,  Isaac Shannon, Daniel Johnson, Samuel Futhey, James 
Weaver, William Watson, Samuel Gilmore, Samuel Robb, Stephen Johnson, James Colville, 
Andrew Ferguson, Andrew McKinney, Richard Davis, Henry Wells, Bobert Colville,  Hugh 
Newell, Timothy Spencer, James Riley, Robert Robb, John Tennille, William Vance, 
John Stevenson, John Morrison, John Criss, Robert Glass, John Robb, William McClurg, 
Nicholas Brown, Robert Armstrong, John Brown, John Campbell, John Marquis, John Wagoner, 
Sen., James Taylor, John Harriman, Jacob Romans, John Robinson, Samuel McMillan, 
John Wilken, Sen., James Patterson, Thomas Bay, John Lawther, Samuel Smith, James 
Watson, Sen., James Kirk, William Ayrs, Edward Brown, Cornelius Boyles, Wm. McGarrah, 
Alexander Ayrs, George Coffman, James Ward, Wm. Shearer, Robert McCready, Joseph 
Caldwell, John Gardner, William Caldwell, James Doudle, Hugh McClurg, James Satterfield, 
James Robinson, Joseph Colville, Bosten Burgett, Richard Wells, George Tennille, 
Daniel Tennille, Peter Linville, John Robb, Tarry McGarry, George Moore, Jacob Buxton, 
John Poagen. 

Sister Site
Home Page
Washington County Link Page